Christmas Reading

17/12/2012

 
Picture
I hope you all have a book or two on your Santa lists! After the Christmas dinner, you should begin to read The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-time, by Mark Haddon.

We will be doing a group reading of this when we return from the holidays. Please pay special attention to the character (Christopher) and the idea of crisis and resolution. We will be preparing an in-depth character profile.

Feel free to continue reading other books also. Some of you may have got the Dahl short story bug. I got it when i was eight and it has never left me.

Another novel that I highly recommend is The Life of Pi, by Yann Martel. This fantastic book has just been released as a blockbuster movie. I implore you to read the book BEFORE seeing the movie. Indeed, it may warrant a debate in class.
I want to wish you all a very happy Christmas 



Jack Merriman
17/12/2012 01:47:29 am

During lunch I had a good look through my extremely messy locker and eventually found the book. I have also put the Dahl short story book on my Christmas list.

The Life of Pi, I knew it was a movie but I had no clue it was a book. The trailers look interesting but I have no idea whether it is animated or filmed.

Eline.dv
17/12/2012 03:45:08 am

thanks Mr.Finucane i wish you a happy Christmas and a merry new year too!!!

Heather M
17/12/2012 02:40:06 pm

I also agree that 'the life of pi' is a very good book. But whatever you do don't see the movie before reading the book because it may confuse you a lot.


Comments are closed.